Sydney to Lithgow leg of the walk completed – Jan 1st – 5th.

January 10, 2014

Uncategorized

The first leg of the Sydney to Parkes Bio-Recon walk – 150 km from Sydney to Lithgow, was walked in just under 30 hrs over the first four days of 2014.

From the Nepean river crossing on the M4 motorway it took 18 hours to arrive at Lithgow Rail head at 7:30 pm Jan 4th.

20 km out from Lithgow towards Bathurst on day 5, heat and blisters made it too difficult to continue. Pushing the laden fridge trolley was not too difficult, but the blisters were only getting worse.

I resolved to withdraw and complete the walk some time later, but that never happened.

As these walks are exploratory, experimental, and ‘training’ for the larger walk, and living on the move, I consider this a good beginning. There is always much to learn and above all to adapt to.

I had dedicated this walk to various environmental and renewable energy groups active in the Sydney region, but I don’t think they would recall my contacting them, so to be realistic, lets say that aspect of doing things is not my strong point, and I don’t feel it will be part of what I do in the future regarding walking.

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Sydney to Lithgow leg of the walk completed – Jan 1st – 5th.”

  1. ulvfugl Says:

    Heat and blisters ?

    Heat and feet ?

    Resolved to withdraw ?

    Withdrawal of resolve ?

    Hahahaha,

    So, sit in the shade for half a year.

    I mean, the whole notion of moving about is pretty ridiculous really…